Skip to Content

Header Navigation

You are here
Victorian International Education Awards 2015

2015 Victorian International Education Awards finalists announced

Victoria will celebrate the contribution of international education to the State at next month’s prestigious Victorian International Education Awards, with 17 international students from 13 countries, five Victorian students and 19 education providers announced as finalists for their outstanding commitment to the sector.

First held in 2013, the Awards celebrate Victoria’s largest services export by recognising the exceptional accomplishments of international students and innovative education institutions, companies and service providers.

This year, five local Victorian students were also recognised as finalists in the new ‘Victorian Student of the Year – Internationalisation’ category, for their efforts in actively supporting the engagement of international students with the broader Victorian community.

Victorian International Education Award 2015 winners will be announced at the official Awards Ceremony on Tuesday 1 December 2015.

Finalists for 2015 are:

Provider Awards

Excellence in International Education – English Language Training

  • Ability English
  • Deakin University
  • Discover English
  • RMIT Training

Excellence in International Education – Private Education & Training

  • Australian Federation of International Students
  • Moorabbin Flying Services
  • The Australian Ballet School

Excellence in International Education – TAFE

  • Box Hill Institute
  • Federation Training
  • Melbourne Polytechnic

Excellence in International Education – University

  • Deakin University
  • Monash University
  • RMIT University

Excellence in International Student Experience

  • Australian Federation of International Students
  • Deakin University
  • Edge of the Outback Program
  • Impact English

Excellence in International Student Employability and Career Development

  • RMIT University
  • Swinburne University

Excellence in Innovation in Industry Partnerships

  • Centre for E-Research and Digital Innovation
  • Deakin University
  • Melbourne City Institute
  • The Gordon

 Student Awards

 International Student of the Year – English Language Training

  • Doanh Thuc Nguyen
  • Goktug Sezer Garip
  • Jirayut Prompen
  • Seunghyun (Charlie) Shin

International Student of the Year – Vocational Education & Training (VET)

  • Aibinuomo (Hybee) Iyiade
  • Joseph Manuel Kierulf III
  • Lai Poh Lee

International Student of the Year – Higher Education

  • Fang Xuan Koay
  • Mustika Indah (Nina) Khairina
  • Withitaporn (Anne) Sangprakong

International Student of the Year – Research

  • Ashrafalsadat Hosseini
  • Heba Zahid
  • Jessica Pandohee
  • Lemuel Didulo Lopez
  • Wanamina Waehama

Victorian Student of the Year – Internationalisation

  • Danny Ong
  • Joslyn Ma
  • Siamak Sam Loni
  • Tiffany Michelle Nicholas
  • Wesa Chau

Premier’s Awards

  • Premier’s Award – International Student of the Year
  • Premier’s Award – International Education Provider of the Year

Visit the Premier’s Media Centre for more information.

Date posted: 02 Nov 2015

Last updated: 29 Sep 2015


Copyright of materials present on this website vests in the State of Victoria, Australia. Apart from fair dealing for the purpose of private study, research, criticism or review, as permitted under copyright legislation, no part may be reproduced or used for any commercial purposes whatsoever.

Subject to the operation of the Copyright Act 1968, you may reproduce the material which appears in this package for personal, in-house or non-commercial use, on condition that:

  • you acknowledge the copyright owner
  • no official connection is claimed
  • the material is made available without charge or any cost, and
  • the material is not subject to inaccurate, misleading or derogatory treatment

If you have any concerns regarding copyright, please contact us.

  • Privacy Statement:
  • Copyright Notice:
  • Disclaimer Notice: