On this page

  • Banks and credit unions
  • Opening an account
  • Opening hours and teller machines

You can set up a bank account before you arrive in Australia or after you get here. Your university, college or school may also be able to help you set up an account.

Banks and credit unions

There are four major banks in Australia and a number of credit unions. The major banks are:

  • Commonwealth Bank
  • National Australia Bank (NAB)
  • ANZ
  • Westpac

ID requirements to open an account

Check with the bank you want to open an account with. Generally, you must have your letter of offer or Electronic Confirmation of Enrolment (eCoE) from the university, college or school you are enrolled in, as well as your passport, and other forms of identification. You will also need your Australian Tax File Number (TFN).

Opening hours

Most banks are open Monday to Friday from 9.30 am to 4.00 pm. Some are also open later on Friday afternoons and on Saturday mornings.

Automatic Teller Machines

Automatic Teller Machines (ATMs) are available all day, every day. Many universities, colleges and schools have ATMs on campus.

If you use an ATM for a bank that's not your own, you may be charged a fee. The ATM displays a message to tell you that a fee will be charged for continuing the transaction, and you can choose to continue or to cancel your transaction.

If you use an ATM from the same bank as the card you are using, you won't be charged a fee.