The Victorian International Education Awards are an initiative of the Victorian Government, designed to promote and reward outstanding achievement and excellence among students, education providers, business and not-for-profit organisations in the international education sector in Victoria.

The international student finalists have displayed outstanding academic achievements and all share a determination to make the most of the opportunities that an international education provides and, in the process, to engage with and make an outstanding contribution to the Victorian community.

We received strong applications across all student categories in 2016 including our new International Student of the Year – Regional and Alumnus of the Year categories.

With this year’s student finalists representing 18 different countries, it is evident that Victoria continues to attract some of the best and brightest students from around the world.

We would like to thank all applicants for sharing their stories and congratulate our 2016 finalists.

Winners for both the student and provider categories will be announced on 21 November 2016.

International Student of the Year - Vocational Education and Training

Edgar Flores – Sunraysia Institute (Philippines)

Felycia Viffany – Academia (Indonesia)

Freddy Mata Mendoza – Holmesglen (Venezuela)

Wittawat Busaracumwong – Holmesglen (Thailand)

International Student of the Year - English Language Training

Maria Victoria Gonzalez – Swinburne College (Argentina)

Safi Sarah Mugenga – Hawthorn English (D.R Congo)

Sheyne de Vasconcelos Tanaka – Hawthorn English (Brazil)

International Student of the Year - Higher Education

Amit Sarwal – Federation University (India)

Jingqi Wang – University of Melbourne (China)

Naufal Aliy Andra Putra – RMIT University (Indonesia)

Sahil Puri – Victoria University (India)

Sander Bredal – University of Melbourne (Norway)

Yuliana Sari – Swinburne University (Indonesia)

International Student of the Year - Regional

Alonso Navarro Mendoza – La Trobe University (Mexico)

Andreas Kupke – Deakin University (Germany)

Balaji Trichy Narayanaswamy – Deakin University (India)

Zheng Jie Lim – Monash University (Singapore)

International Alumnus of the Year

Bart Kolodziejczyk – Monash University (Poland)

Huong Dang – Swinburne University (Vietnam)

Kashif Bouns – Victoria University (Pakistan)

Vincent Bicudo de Castro – Monash University (Brazil)

International Student of the Year - Research

Chenkai Ma – University of Melbourne (China)

Francois-Marie Allioux – Deakin University (France)

Jessica Pandohee – RMIT University (Mauritius)

Michael Lim – Monash University – (Philippines)

Victorian Student of the Year - Internationalisaton

Elena Adams – Deakin University

Jemma McLeod – Victoria University

Wesa Chau – Swinburne University